Throwback till 1983.

Many people consider the 12 Stunden von Bärnkopf to be the "mother of the long distance events".
It was organized for the first time in 1983. One year later the event was part of WCT (Long distance wold Team Championship) together with Pinzolo, ITA and Jyväskylä, FIN. That was long before 6-, 12-, or 24 hours events in several sports appeared.

Teams participated

National Teams from Finland, Sweden, Hungary and even China have been participating. Also teams from USA, Italy, Germany, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia.

Names to remember

The first solo winner was Josef Hones, AUT with a winning distance of 190 km (then still in the classic technic).

One of the most famous solo runners was Pauli Siitonen, FIN. He invented the Siitonen technic .

One of the most famous fans who crossed his fingers for Pauli Siitonen was football world champion Mario Kempes.

Unforgettable the performance of quadriplegic
Georg Freund, who covered 75 km.

Oldies but goodies.

The oldest team ever covered 86 kilometers.